My Green Smoothie Adventures

So just like the average American, I felt tired, bloated, and had joint pain. Keep in mind I kept thinking to myself…”I’m in my late 20’s very close to being 30 and I should not have joint pain this young.”

#greensmoothies

I tried dieting, cutting and counting calories, running, weights but with a 7am to 4pm M-F job it was really difficult to stay consistent at the gym.

Turns out my body was tired of all the junk and lack of sleep I was giving it. I thought I was eating healthy but organic fruits and vegetables have so many more nutrients than non-organic. And I was not eating organic. 😦

There are recipes of green smoothies all over the internet but I’m just going to tell you about the ones I made.

  1. Kale Smoothie- Kale, Pears and Pineapples, and cucumbers

Kale and pear

Picture by blogfreepeople.com

 

pineapple

picture by medicalnewstoday.com

2. Creamy Smoothie- This one was my dinner smoothie replacement, I used avocado, coconut water, kale, spinach, and mango. You can see the image below it’s really creamy!

avocado kale

picture by allrecipes.com

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/237136/kale-banana-smoothie/

3. Kale Berry- Kale, Spinach, blue berries, strawberries, and pineapples

ingredients-for-kale-smoothie

picture by dishmaps.com/parsley-kale-and-berry

 

I thought I was going to be hungry by replacing a smoothie for breakfast and dinner but I wasn’t, in fact, I felt really full.  Make sure you add extra fruits to your dinner smoothie to make it thick. I’ll have a smoothie for breakfast, then for lunch some meat with veggies and a small portion of pasta.

When I come home from work, I’ll have a snack like a boiled egg or organic veggie chips and then about by 6 pm I’ll have my smoothie and go to bed by 8 pm.

I don’t feel deprived from foods or as if I’m starving myself at all. I actually think my body is tired of digesting so much food and needed a break. Of course, I’m not a doctor or dietitian so all of this is from my personal experience. 

As far as the kitchen tools you need, I would say a regular blender, knifes for chopping your fruit and veggies. You can find affordable items at amazon or even your local market.

1. The Famous Super Blender- I have the crappy version 😦 you can get a better version on amazon
http://rcm-na.amazon-adsystem.com/e/cm?t=quicoftim-20&o=1&p=12&l=ur1&category=kitchen&banner=0FNCR9B2J7F8PHAZGG82&f=ifr&linkID=MWFY65L2DLKGFMK7

Feel free to post comments or just any other tricks that you have tried to keep a healthy lifestyle.

2 thoughts on “My Green Smoothie Adventures

Leave a Reply

